Victor Morris Looking On Returning Back To Germany

Victor Morris is a 25 year old 185cm guard from Inkster Michigan. He played at Cleveland St. From 2003-2007. In his senior season, he played 22 games: 7.5ppg, 2.5rpg, 2.1apg, FGP: 38.7%, 3PT: 34.3%, FT: 84.0%. He came overseas in 2007 and played for TS Goeppingen (Germany-Regionalliga, starting five): 18 games: 20.3ppg, 5.0rpg, 6.0apg. In 2008-2009, he played in Germany and Finland for TS Goeppingen (Germany-Regionalliga): 8 games: 15.5ppg, in Dec.’08 moved to Porvoon Tarmo (Finland-Korisliiga, starting five): 27 games: 14.7ppg, 3.5rpg, 2.5apg, 1.0spg, FGP: 48.3%, 3PT: 39.6%, FT: 64.2%. He Help lead TS Goeppingen to Final Four of the Regionalliga Cup in 2008, led the Regionalliga (South-West) in free-throw percentage 2008,ranked top 5 in scoring in Regionalliga (South-West) 2008, scored a career high 44 points in German BBW Cup Championship 2008, set a career high in assists with 13 against Rastatt 2008, was German BBW Cup Champion 2008, German BBW Cup Final Four MVP 2008 and a Regionalliga All-Star  in 2008. He recently played for Team Amsterdam (Eurobasket Summer League in Chicago). He spoke to German Hoops about his future.

How has your summer been? How does a normal summer workout day look like for Victor Morris?

My summer has been great! I’ve been busy working out and attending international exposure camps. I was invited to Chicago, IL for the Diamond Midwest Exposure Camp. Where I played very well and made the camps all-star team. – Video I was also invited to Atlanta, GA for the Pro One Sports Exposure Camp, where I also played good and made the camps all-star team. Then I received an invite from Eurobasket to come to back to Chicago, IL but this time for the Eurobasket Summer League. I was able to showcase my skills for Eurobasket and again was selected by Darryl Reshaw to the camps all-star team.
So as you can see, my summer has been very busy but beneficial. A normal workout for me varies depending on the day of the week, but I normally hit the gym around 9am with my trainer to work on individual skill work, that usually last about 2 hrs. I rest and have lunch for about an hour then it’s on to weights and cardio, (track or pool). After working out with my trainer, I hit the gym again. I play in a few competitive summer leagues at least 4 days out of the week with other pros that are here in Michigan. Playing with some of the former NBA and current international professionals really helps fine tune my game.

You sat out the 2009-2010 basketball season. Were you able to keep in shape in this time and will you be in 100% basketball shape if you signed with a team now?

It was very difficult to sit out of pro ball all of last season,  Because of my love for the game, it was easy to stay in shape throughout the course of the year, by staying on task with my personalized diet and training regimen, and also hitting the gym for workouts and playing pick up as much as possible. As for right now I can definitely say I am more physically and mentally prepared to play professional ball than ever before. I’m excited to get back to the game I love and help a team win a championship. I have worked very hard all summer with my trainer and we’ve worked on all aspects of my game and body. I’m ready.

You have had basketball experience in Germany playing Regionaliga for TS Goeppingen. How were you able to grow as a player with this experience?

Playing in Goeppingen helped me out a lot. I learned a lot about the game of basketball and how it’s played on the international level. I also learned how to be a professional. I was able to develop more as a player and help lead a young club. My time spent in Goeppingen was very valuable and I can’t thank coach Petkovic and staff enough for giving me the opportunity to play there.

You then moved to Finnland playing for Porvoon Tarmo (Finland-Korisliiga, starting five): 27 games: 14.7ppg, 3.5rpg, 2.5apg, 1.0spg, FGP: 48.3%, 3PT: 39.6%, FT: 64.2%. What was the most important thing that you learned on the court with this experience?

Playing in Finland was a great experience the Korisliga has a lot of talented players who compete every night. It was a big step up from the Regionalliga, but I think I adjusted pretty well. In order for me to have success in Finland I had to become smarter on the court, I spent more time studying film, and extra time in the gym strengthening my weakness. Finland showed me that if you want to play at the highest level you have to do the all the little things right, like watching film, and studying your opponents to gain a competitive edge.

You are a very versatile point guard. what is your biggest asset on the court?

Yes, I’ve been told that my versatility is one of my biggest assets. I think that my ability to effectively make smart decisions and run a team from the point guard spot or create my own offense and consistently knock down shots from the shooting guard position, and having the defensive ability to stop the opposing teams best ball handler are all parts of my game that help establish my reputation for versatility. I pride myself on being a complete player, whether it’s being a defensive stopper, a playmaker, or a scorer. Whatever the coach needs me to do I feel I can do it. I have always been a coach’s player, I can execute the coaches game plan with precision. My talents, combined with my professional and college experience will allow me to make any team I join a better ball club, and help my team win games.

What is a hidden strength in your game that not everybody knows about you?

One thing I think is a little hidden about my game is the passion I have for the game and the level of intensity I play the game with. Every time I step on the court I want to win, and I’m willing to go that extra mile to get that win for my team. I maintain a high level of intensity when I’m on the court because I know that your focus and determination can sometimes be the difference between proper execution and winning and losing.

Do you think that you could make the jump to the PRO B in Germany?

The leagues in Germany are very competitive especially Bundesliga, Pro A and Pro B. I think that I have put in enough time and hard work with my trainer and in the gym this summer, and with my knowledge of the game from previous professional clubs and college, I believe I could definitely help a team at the Pro B or Pro A level win. Every opportunity I’ve had, I’ve proven myself. I’m more than eager for the next opportunity. Whichever team gets me will get much more of a player than they may have anticipated. I’m better than ever now and I can’t wait to get back on the court!

Why are you the type of player that a team needs to win championships?

I believe that in order for a team to have success and ultimately win a championship you have to have leaders, role players, and players who are willing to work hard together every day to better the team. That’s exactly what I am, a hard worker, who’s dedicated to helping my team win. I give it 110% everyday. I’m a leader on and off the court and I’m willing to accept whatever role the coach has for me, and perform my job to the very best of my abilities.
As of now I’m still available and looking for a club. I can be reached at and My agent Antoine Shaw can also be reached at Simms & Shaw Sports Management


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s